Sunday 8 February 2009

Six Animals

New web pages on the six animals -

In training with the staff, we seek to develop not just physical strength and agility but also the ability to move in different ways. The six animals - stag, cat, bear, fox, boar, hawk - teach specific qualities of movement, but also represent qualities the warrior learns to use.

Tuesday 3 February 2009

London Class Started for 2009

The London beginner's class has started for 2009. We're meeting on Saturday mornings 11am-1pm in Walpole Park, Ealing (outdoors, so dress appropriately!) . Future venues may change according to the needs of the class, but Ealing seems a good starting point. Training staffs are provided if you don't have your own. Cost is £5 a session. More details here.

We will be looking at:
  • Sequences of blows for attack and defence, and their application
  • The principles of posture, balance and using / controlling energy
  • Developing physical strength and mental awareness
  • Moving meditation
  • Working creatively with the instincts of the six animals of the quarterstaff
  • The cultural roots of the quarterstaff